You are here

National Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Advisory Council (NDCD) Members


James F. Battey, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
Bethesda, MD 20892

Council terms end on 5/31 of the designated year.

  • BLACKSTONE, Sarah W., Ph.D. (2019)

    President and CEO
    Augmentative Communication, Inc.
    Monterey, CA 93940

  • BLESS, Diane M. , Ph.D. (2018)

    Professor Emeritus
    Departments of Communicative Disorders and Surgery
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
    School of Medicine
    Madison, WI 53792

  • KINNAMON, Sue C., Ph.D. (2019)

    Department of Otolaryngology
    University of Colorado, Denver
    Aurora, CO 80045

  • LEE, David J., Ph.D. (2018)

    Department of Public Health Sciences
    University of Miami School of Medicine
    Miami, FL 33136

  • LI, Jian-Dong, M.D., Ph.D. (2018)

    Professor & Director, Institute for Biomedical Sciences
    Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar
    Georgia State University
    Atlanta, GA 30303

  • LIBERMAN, M. Charles, Ph.D. (2019)

    Director, Eaton-Peabody Laboratory
    Department of Otology and Laryngology
    Harvard Medical School
    Boston, MA 02114

  • MYERS, David G., Ph.D. (2017)

    Hope College
    Department of Psychology
    Holland, MI 49422

  • PERKELL, Joseph S., Ph.D., D.M.D.

    Research Affiliate
    Research Laboratory of Electronics
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, MA 02446

  • SCHREINER, Christoph, M.D., Ph.D. (2019)

    Professor and Vice Chairman
    Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
    Center for Integrative Neuroscience
    School of Medicine
    University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, CA  94158

  • SERRANO, Elba E., Ph.D. (2017)

    Regents Professor
    Department of Biology
    New Mexico State University
    Las Cruces, NM 88003

  • SMITH, Richard J. H., M.D. (2018)

    Department of Otolaryngology
    University of Iowa – Carver College of Medicine
    Iowa City, IA 52242

  • TAGER–FLUSBERG, Helen, Ph.D. (2016)

    Department of Psychology
    Boston University
    Boston, MA 02215

  • TUCCI, Debara L., M.D. (2017)

    Division of Otolaryngology
    Department of Surgery
    Duke University Medical Center
    Durham, NC 27710

  • WESTERFIELD, Monte, Ph.D. (2017)

    Professor and Chair
    Institute of Neuroscience
    Department of Biology
    University of Oregon
    Eugene, OR 97403

  • WILSON, Donald A., Ph.D. (2019)

    Senior Research Scientist and Deputy Director
    Emotional Brain Institute
    The Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research
    New York University School of Medicine
    Orangeburg, NY 10962

Ex Officio

  • BECK, Lucille B., Ph.D.

    Audiology and Speech Pathology Service
    Department of Veterans Affairs
    Washington, DC 20422

  • THEMANN, Christa L., M.A., CCC-A

    Research Audiologist
    Hearing Loss Prevention Team
    National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Cincinnati, OH 45226

  • BURWELL, Sylvia M.

    Department of Health and Human Services
    Washington, DC 20201

  • COLLINS, Francis S., Ph.D., M.D.

    National Institutes of Health
    Bethesda, MD 20892

Executive Secretary

  • JORDAN, Craig A., Ph.D.

    Director, Division of Extramural Activities
    National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
    Bethesda, MD 20892

Last Updated Date: 
July 21, 2016