Skip to main content
Text Size: sML

NIDCD Working Group on Accessible and Affordable Hearing Health Care for Adults with Mild to Moderate Hearing Loss

August 25-27, 2009
Bethesda, Maryland

Participant List

Judy R. Dubno, Ph.D., Co-Chair
Professor
Medical University of South Carolina
Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
135 Rutledge Avenue, MSC 550
Charleston, SC 29425-5500
Email: dubnojr@musc.edu

Lucille B. Beck, Ph.D., Co-Chair
National Program Director, Audiology and Speech Pathology
Chief Consultant, Rehabilitation Services
Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center (126)
50 Irving Street, NW
Washington, DC 20422
Email: Lucille.Beck@va.gov

Robyn M. Cox, Ph.D.
Professor
University of Memphis
School of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology
807 Jefferson Avenue
Memphis, TN 38105
Email: robyncox@memphis.edu

Sheila M. Dalzell, Au.D.
Audiologist
The Hearing Center, Inc.
2561 Lac De Ville Blvd., Suite 101
Rochester, NY 14618
Email: Sheila_Dalzell@frontiernet.net
http://www.DalzellsHearing.com

Adrian Davis, Ph.D.
Professor and Director NHS Newborn Hearing Screening Programme
Director MRC Hearing and Communication Group
University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester M13 9PL
England
Email: adrian@mrchear.man.ac.uk
MRC Hearing and Communication website:  http://www.mrchear.info

M. Jennifer Derebery, M.D.
Associate
House Ear Clinic
2100 West Third Street, Suite 111
Los Angeles, CA 90057
Email: JDerebery@hei.org

Sumitrajit Dhar, PhD
Associate Professor
Roselyn & Richard Pepper Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL 60208
Email: s-dhar@northwestern.edu

Harvey Dillon, Ph.D.
Director of Research
National Acoustic Laboratories
Sydney, Australia
Email: Harvey.Dillon@nal.gov.au
Web: http://www.nal.gov.au

Judith Feder, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean, Georgetown Public Policy Institute (GPPI)
Georgetown University
3520 Prospect St., NW, 4th Floor
Washington, DC 20007
Email: federj@georgetown.edu

Barry A. Freeman, Ph.D.
Director of Education and Training
Starkey World Headquarters
6425 Flying Cloud Drive
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
Email: Barry_Freeman@starkey.com

Gilbert R. Herer, Ph.D.
Director Emeritus
Children's Hearing & Speech Center
Children's National Medical Center
Professor of Pediatrics
George Washington University
Washington, DC 20007
Email: gherer@cnmc.org

Larry E. Humes, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47405-7002
Email: humes@indiana.edu

Mead C. Killion, Ph.D.
Etymotic Research
61 Martin Lane
Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Email: abonso@aol.com

Mark Krumm, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Speech Pathology and Audiology
A104 Music and Speech Bldg
Kent State University
Kent, Ohio 44262-0001
Email: mkrumm@kent.edu

Robert H. Margolis, Ph.D.
Professor, Dept. of Otolaryngology
University of Minnesota  MMC 283
420 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: margo001@umn.edu
http://www.audiologyincorporated.com

Ateev Mehrotra, M.D., M.P.H.
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
(and RAND Health)
230 McKee Place, Suite 600
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Email: mehrotraa@upmc.edu or mehrotra@rand.org

Agnete Parving, M.D., DMSc
Professor of Clinical Audiology
Department of Audiology
H:S. Bispebjerg Hospital
Bispebjerg Bakke 23
2400 CPH.NV.
Denmark
Email: ap03@bbh.regionh.dk

David A. Preves, Ph.D.
4133 Pinar Dr.
Bradenton, FL 34210
E-mail: Dave_Preves@starkey.com

Howard Weinstein
Senador Vergueiro 334
São Paulo
Brasil 04739-060
Email: strolltheworld@gmail.com

Bevan Yueh, M.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery
University of Minnesota
420 Delaware St. SE, MMC 396
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: byueh@umn.edu

NIDCD STAFF:

Amy M. Donahue, Ph.D.
Deputy Director, Division of Scientific Programs
Coordinator, Hearing and Balance/Vestibular Program
NIDCD/NIH
6120 Executive Blvd EPS 400C
Rockville, MD 20892
Email: donahuea@nidcd.nih.gov

INVITED FEDERAL AGENCIES:

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Denise Dougherty, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor, Child Health and Quality Improvement
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
540 Gaither Road
Rockville, MD 20850
email: denise.dougherty@ahrq.hhs.gov
Assistant: lisa.krever@ahrq.hhs.gov

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Eric A. Mann, M.D., Ph.D.
CAPT, USPHS
Clinical Deputy Director
Division of Ophthalmic and Ear, Nose, and Throat Devices
Food and Drug Administration
WO66 RM2438
10903 New Hampshire Ave.
Silver Spring, MD 20903
Email: eric.mann@fda.hhs.gov

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Shu-Chen Peng, Ph.D., CCC-A
Scientific Reviewer in Audiology
ENTB/DOED/ODE/CDRH
Food and Drug Administration
WO66 RM2446
10903 New Hampshire Ave.
Silver Spring, MD 20903
Email: shu-chen.peng@fda.hhs.gov

Health Research Services Administration (HRSA)
Irene Forsman, M.S., RN
Director, Newborn Hearing Screening and Intervention Program
Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs
Maternal and Child Health Bureau, HRSA
Parklawn Building, Room 18A-18
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Email: iforsman@hrsa.gov

INVITED ORGANIZATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES:

American Academy of Audiology (AAA)
M. Patrick Feeney, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University of Washington
Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery
V. M. Bloedel Hearing Research Center
Box 357923
Seattle, WA 98195
Email: pfeeney@u.washington.edu

American Academy of Otolaryngology- Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS)
Kris A. Schulz, MPH
Senior Director, Research & Quality Improvement
American Academy of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery
1650 Diagonal Road
Alexandria, VA 22314-2857
Email: KSchulz@entnet.org
www.entnet.org

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
Margaret Rogers, PhD
Chief Staff Officer for Science and Research
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
2200 Research Blvd., #203
Rockville, MD 20850
Email: mrogers@asha.org

Better Hearing Institute (BHI)
Cathy Henderson Jones
President
1444 I Street NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005
Email: cathy.jones@phonak.com

Convenient Care Association (CCA)
Tine Hansen-Turton, MGA, JD
NNCC, CCA, PHMC
260 South Broad Street, 18th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19102
Email: tine@nncc.us

Hearing Industries Association (HIA)
Carole M. Rogin
Executive Director
1444 I Street, NW, #700
Washington, DC 20005
Email: crogin@bostrom.com

Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA)
Brenda Battat
Executive Director
7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 1200
Bethesda, MD 20814
Email: Battat@hearingloss.org

Top